Bennewitz quartet

string quartet

Biography

The Bennewitz Quartet is one of the top international chamber ensembles, a status confirmed not only by their victories in two prestigious competitions – Osaka in 2005 and Prémio Paolo Borciani, Italy in 2008, but also by the acclaim of the critics. As early as 2006, the German Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung wrote:

“… the music was remarkable not just for its clarity of structure, but for the beautiful tonal palette and purity of intonation in its execution. Only very rarely does one experience such skilfully crafted and powerful harmonies… Great art.”

The quartet currently performs at major venues both in the Czech Republic and abroad (Wigmore Hall London, Musikverein Wien, Konzerthaus Berlin, Théâtre des Champs-Elysées Paris, The Frick Collection New York, Seoul Art Center, Rudolfinum and others), and is regularly invited to festivals such as the Salzburger Festspiele, Luzerne Festival, Rheingau Musik Festival, Kammermusikfest Lockenhaus, and the Prague Spring.

The Bennewitz Quartet especially enjoys playing and performing on the Czech domestic music scene. Particular highlights have included their cooperation with the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra and its conductor Jiří Bělohlávek for a performance of Bohuslav Martinů’s Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra. Last year, they performed with the Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Czech premiere of the composition Absolute Jest by John Adams. The members of the quartet also use their choice of repertoire and concert programming to actively promote Czech music, including excellent and unjustly neglected composers such as L. Dusík, A. Rejcha, P. Haas, V.Ullmann, E. Schulhoff and others. The Bennewitz Quartet has the privilege of working with the outstanding artists:  Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Alexander Melnikov, Vadim Gluzman, Isabel Charisius, Pietro de Maria, Reto Bieri, Danjulo Ishizaka and others.

The fruits of their long-term cooperation with the Coviello Classics label include a recording of Leoš Janáček’s two string quartets and Béla Bartók’s fourth. The critics’ response was very positive. The magazine Fono Forum was impressed by the “fiery temperament”. The second recording in the series, released in spring 2010, contains both of Bedřich Smetana’s quartets. The website Klassik.com called it “simply phenomenal”. Their next project was a recording of Dvořák’s complete Cypresses cycle, on the Hänssler Classic label and the Dvořák project continued in 2015 when the quartet released the quartets op.51 and op.106 under the SWR Music / Naxos label. The recording became the Choice of the Harmonie magazine and the Editor’s choice.

The Bennewitz Quartet was founded in 1998. Thanks to their participation in various masterclasses, the members have had the opportunity to gain experience and inspiration from numerous eminent musical personalities, most notably Rainer Schmidt (Hagen Quartet) and Walter Levin (La Salle Quartet). In 2003 the Queen of Spain presented them with the diploma for outstanding student performance at the Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofía in Madrid. A year later, the quartet were awarded the Czech Chamber Music Society prize.

The quartet is named after violinist Antonín Bennewitz (1833-1926), who was a seminal figure in the creation of the Czech violin school.

The Bennewitz Quartet is kindly supported by the Viennese string manufacturer Thomastik-Infeld.

Website

Videos

  • video thumbnail
  • video thumbnail
  • video thumbnail

Attachments

Quatuor Bennewitz

quatuor à cordes

Biographie

Le Quatuor Bennewitz est l’une des formations les plus remarquables de la scène internationale de musique de chambre – les victoires du Quatuor aux prestigieux concours d’Osaka (2005) et de Prémio Paolo Borciani (2008) ainsi que les régulières louanges de la critique confirment ce statut. Le Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung écrit dès 2006 :

« La musique était admirable par la clarté de sa structure, par la beauté de ses couleurs tonales, la pureté de l’intonation et de l’exécution. L’on ne fait que très rarement l’expérience d’une harmonie si travaillée et d’une telle force… du grand art. »

Le Quatuor se produit sur toutes les scènes importantes de République Tchèque, ainsi que sur les scènes internationales de premier plan, tels le Wigmore Hall à Londres, le Musikverein à Vienne, le Konzerthaus de Berlin, le Théâtre des Champs-Elysées à Paris, The Frick Collection New York, Seoul Art Center, Rudolfinum, entre autres. La formation est également régulièrement invitée à des festivals de renom tels les Salzburger Festspiele, le Luzerne Festival, le Rheingau Musik Festival, Kammermusikfest Lockenhaus ou le Festival du Printemps de Prague.

Le Quatuor Bennewitz entretient des liens très étroits avec la scène musicale tchèque, comme en témoigne leur brillante interprétation du Concerto pour quatuor à cordes et orchestre de Bohuslav Martinů avec l’Orchestre Philharmonique tchèque, sous la direction de Jiří Bělohlávek. Leur répertoire privilégie certains excellents compositeurs tchèques, Ladislav Dusík, Anton Rejcha, Pavel Haas, Viktor Ullmann ou Erwin Schulhoff entre autres, aux œuvres trop souvent injustement négligées.

La longue collaboration du Quatuor avec le label Coviello Classics a donné lieu à l’enregistrement unanimement loué par la critique des deux quatuors à cordes de Leos Janáček et du quatrième quatuor de Béla Bartók. La revue Fono Forum souligna alors le « tempérament enflammé » des musiciens. Le deuxième enregistrement de la série, paru en 2010, présente les deux quatuors à cordes de Bedřich Smetana ; il fut qualifié de « tout simplement phénoménal » par le site Klassik.com. L’enregistrement du cycle complet des Cyprès de Dvorák paru chez le label Hänssler Classic est suivi en en 2016 du nouveau CD sorti chez SWR Music / Naxos qui est dédié aux quatuors opus 51 et opus 106 d’Antonin Dvořák. Le CD a réçu le Choice du Harmonie Magazine ainis que l’Editors Choice.

Le Quatuor Bennewitz fut fondé en 1998. Les musiciens ont participé à de multiples master class et acquis une expérience déterminante grâce à leur collaboration avec des personnalités musicales comme Rainer Schmidt (Hagen Quartet) ou Walter Levin (La Salle Quartet). La Reine d’Espagne remit au Quatuor le diplôme de l’Escuela Superior de Música Reina Sofía à Madrid en 2003. Un an plus tard, le Quatuor fut primé par la Société de musique de Chambre de la Philharmonie Tchèque.

Le Quatuor est nommé d’après le violoniste Antonin Bennewitz (1833-1926), figure fondatrice de l’école de violon tchèque.

Le Quatuor Bennewitz bénéficie du soutien de la société viennoise Thomastik-Infeld.

 

petit reportage France 3 :

Bennewitz

Site web

Vidéos

  • video thumbnail
  • video thumbnail
  • video thumbnail

Documents